Here’s the video clip in question:

Since I’m currently in Europe, I didn’t have access to the usual Autopian Mainframe (an IBM PCjr floating in a kiddie pool of rust-water in David Tracy’s crawlspace) so instead I used an old Minitel terminal to contact the European Autopian Mainframe, an Oric-1 enhanced with a massively parallel array of flea collars to enhance computing power, and had it isolate and enhance the cars from the video:

Now, we know the larger SUV is the new Volvo EX90. Using this as a size template, I think that smaller vehicle would likely be something around the size of a Jeep Renegade or Fiat 500x, perhaps even a touch smaller. It’s almost definitely a four-door, crossover-type vehicle, but it definitely looks small! The angle sort of makes it look really, really small, with proportions like a Honda 600Z:

But it can’t be that small, can it? Can it? Of course, this little tease is all Volvo is giving us now, but it’s an interesting little glimpse. Volvo has a history of smaller cars (like the charming ones they appropriated from Dutch carmaker DAF), though aside from sports cars like the Volvo P1800, these aren’t really known in the US. I’m curious to see what happens. In the meantime, I encourage wild speculation from everyone.   I’ve driven my own ’76 66 GL sedan to work every day so far this week; I’m doing what I can to promote their visibility. I even give it a prime parking spot at home, although I admit my parts-car ’75 66 GL wagon has to languish in the elements: https://live.staticflickr.com/7902/33155882908_602fcb2b4e_c.jpg https://www.blogcdn.com/green.autoblog.com/media/2009/12/tango-altcar-05-630.jpg I would just love something like the C1/Aygo, a good quality no nonsense 4/5 door small car, but just as an EV with a reasonable (250+ miles) range. Too bad you don’t have an ORAC instead. Not only would it be capable of extrapolating the dimensions of the MiniMe EX90, it would provide you with all the affection you’ve been craving. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YAMPy_AhEns People will go nuts for it!

Volvo Teases What Looks Like A Ridiculously Tiny EV Crossover - 85Volvo Teases What Looks Like A Ridiculously Tiny EV Crossover - 93Volvo Teases What Looks Like A Ridiculously Tiny EV Crossover - 12