I find these vitriolic responses puzzling, so I reached out to Matt himself to ask about his color choice, and give him a chance to defend himself and his car from the Angry Porschemen. I learned so much more than I expected. It’s good. For some backstory, it’s worth mentioning that Matt getting this car hasn’t been an easy process, since this is really the second example of the car that was built, since the original sank into the unforgiving Atlantic when the ship that was carrying it burned and sank back in February:

— Matt “Stick to Cars” Farah (@TheSmokingTire) February 16, 2022 Remember that? That was bonkers. However Porsche made good, and Matt’s novel ride is now here. And now that it’s been shown off a bit, here’s some reactions from the Rennlist forum:

As you can see, there’s plenty of people who don’t get it. Which is fine! It’s not supposed to be for everyone! But there’s also plenty of people who don’t just not get it, they don’t want anyone to get it, ever, and say things like “…some builds should not be approved by the factory to begin with,” or “a little bit of puke came up into my mouth” (which I bet isn’t true, I’ll need a puke sample to confirm that (looks at notes), Scrounger) and people speculating that somehow Matt couldn’t have actually wanted this, he just bought a whole car to, you know, be weird. As someone who firmly believes that cars deserve to be in colors, real colors, not just the grayscale hell that defines nearly every silvery-gray piece of shit on the road today, I cannot fathom why there’s these sorts of angry, indignant reactions. It looks good! It’s fine that it doesn’t look like every other Boxster out there. And if seeing a car in this interesting color-shifty, powdery pinkish color is actually making you vomit, get off fucking Rennlist and go see a doctor, immediately, because I think something is up with your gastrointestinal tract. Matt actually tells a bit about his decision process for the color in this video, right about at this time marker here, and it makes a lot of sense, I think:

But you know me, I like to really know stuff, and to really know anything, I needed to hear what Matt himself said. So I reached out, and he gave some really interesting and in-depth answers that I think you’ll enjoy. Here’s what he said: Torch, you completely threw me off the rails here: What is going to happen to the world in the next 9 years so that we can have cryogenic reprogramming? I saw that movie in the 90’s and now it’s close enough to 2032 that it looks like it would be funny to watch again. I know I’m going to regret it, but like Mystery Science 3000, I’ll be sure to comment all along the way to annoy my kids. People need to get over being upset by other people’s color choices; why would anyone care how somebody else paints their car? Personally that sort of reaction drives my desire to paint things the ‘wrong’ color. That said, I’ve seen plenty of car colors that I thought looked terrible in pictures but were great in person. My current truck was that way, I looked at the color in the configuration tool and said “nah”, but then I saw one in person and custom-ordered in that color.

Here s What Matt Farah Has To Say To You Forum Dorks Ripping On His Pink Porsche - 74Here s What Matt Farah Has To Say To You Forum Dorks Ripping On His Pink Porsche - 7