Some of you have sent me emails or even told me at our car show that since starting here I haven’t written much about skoolies and wacky camper conversions. Looking at my history, you’d be right. So, let’s change that! And I think that I found a decent one. A number of the school bus conversions that I have written about for a while were built out of large buses. Big buses are great! I find them fun to drive and you have lots of space for whatever your mind cooks up. But, fuel economy isn’t nearly as fun and you need an extra-large space to park the things. Plus, you still have to drive a big bus that would normally require a CDL if it weren’t registered as an RV. So, there’s an appeal to going small. But I sometimes find myself disappointed by smaller builds that lack amenities like toilets, showers, or places to put your cookware that won’t send a pan into the back of your head on hard braking. For an example, check out this skoolie of roughly the same size: It’s gorgeous, right? But it doesn’t have a bathroom, and the kitchen’s refrigerator does have a lot of space. Oh, and you don’t get an oven, either. That’s what makes this little 2009 GMC Savana 3500 refreshing to me. It looks like its builder actually thought about having to use it for camping. And the seller claims to have camped in it over a year and 28,000 miles, so it seems to do the job. This bus started off as a Thomas Minotour. As vehicle history site Coachbuilt notes, the Minotour has been in production since 1980. And “Thomas Built Buses” itself has an interesting history. It started in 1916 by Perley A. Thomas to build streetcars.  It built streetcars until 1936, when it followed industry trends and started building buses. In 1980, the cutaway chassis cab van was still a fresh concept. In the 1970s, the Big Three introduced models of their vans that featured the forward cab up front and a bare chassis out back. These cutaway vans allowed body manufacturers to build a variety of small and medium-sized commercial vehicles on the back of an existing vehicle. For Thomas Built Buses, it meant the backbone for a 30-passenger school bus. It isn’t said when this 2009 was taken out of service, but it looks like it survived school service well. Mileage isn’t noted, but under the short hood is a 6.6-liter Duramax turbodiesel V8. This is good for 250 horsepower and 460 lb-ft torque. Of course, the big reason to go diesel with something like this is the fuel economy. The seller says that it scores 15 to 17 mpg. In my experience, an equivalent gasoline-powered bus of this size would get about 12 mpg. The living space of the bus is built out like a cabin in the woods. The first thing that I love is that directly behind the driver seat is the bathroom, which features a toilet and shower. The room is lined with cedar and you get a big window to look out of while you read the Morning Dump in the morning. Aft from there is a wall of National Park maps, a couch, and then the kitchen. I love this, too, because the refrigerator is large enough that you could get by without having a separate cooler. And there’s an RV-style range with burners on top and an oven. For electrical power, it features power outlets, 400 Watts of solar power, a 300Ah house battery, and an inverter.                                             In the back of the camper is another couch, which leads out the back door to a porch. From there, you can climb a wooden ladder up to the party deck. It looks like a rather nice place to pop a chair and watch a sunset.  It looks like you don’t get an air-conditioner, but there’s already a spot to add that. Like I said before, it looks like the builder thought about having to camp in the thing. They didn’t try to chop the roof off to raise it and the builder even thought about storing stuff while on the road. I reached out to the seller for more insight, and I’ll update this if they get back to me. The asking price is also pretty reasonable. At $29,999 it’s not the cheapest thing out there, but it seems to have a decent bang for its price. That aforementioned pretty bus above is $58,000 and doesn’t have nearly the same amount of kit. This little bus makes me wonder: Would you rather camp in something like this, or buy one of the many campers coming out of factories in Indiana? The conversion wasn’t done super well, and the bus didn’t run right due to bad injectors, so the price was pretty cheap. Arranged to have it towed/repaired at a local diesel repair shop, then drove across the country to pick it up: https://youtu.be/K7nJFMf6xZw I’ve only spent about 3 weeks in it this year, but it’s been a blast! With 200w of solar and southern CO sun, I could work remote all day and not worry about running out of power for the laptop. The bathroom situation still sucks (bucket) and no shower, but for now I’m happy with it. It honestly drives better than my Astro van… kind of shocking to be honest. Super relaxing to drive, whereas the astro is soft/twitchy at speeds.
Anyway, I love my skoolie. Good deal. Under 8k all in right now. Will hopefully be working remote this winter. Cheers! Anyway, this build rules! Don’t think I’d use it enough to make sense, maybe in a few decades when I’m ready to retire and there are electrified options. But I really like this one. This is what kept me from pursuing a build on my own and instead I just purchased a new mainstream RV. Skoolies etc are an interesting niche, but expect to be side eyed a lot wherever you go, especially if your skoolie still resembles the transit vehicle it once was. You get enough side-eyes as someone living in a bright shiny new RV full time. “DID YOU KNOW…?!” (graphic of a Changli launching itself ass-first towards the viewer) I can barely begin to explain how unpleasant the idea of several hundred pounds of lumber stock and ceramic tile flying at the back of my head in an accident sounds. There’s a reason – beyond cost – that commercially built RV’s never feature this much wood in the passenger cabin. I’m not saying RV’s and campers are the pinnacle of build quality and safety – but they are absolutely designed and engineered to be what they are, rather than a retired bus filled with 2×4’s and self tapping wood screws. I guess I just don’t understand it. I think $29,000 (or $58,000!!!) buys a lot better vacations. I’d rather fly somewhere than drive at 65mph getting 12mpg. Still have 3-5 years before retirement, maybe I should just pre-emptively buy this and park it out back in the meantime.. I could go live it in on the weekends and dream.. But I really don’t understand why people always built them so heavy, with wooden closets and metal racks. And dragging all that other crap around too. I owned a 1991 VW T4 eurovan diesel cargo version once. It had a wooden floor in the back and nice isolated sides, so you could sleep in it. I had a portable fridge but had to take the showers elsewhere. With all my semi lightweight camping equipment in it and 2 bicycles on the back it still got 31 MPG going 3000 miles all around France, even dragging a small foldable 1974 “CombiCamp” trailer (Google them, they’re great!) If I’m doing the driving, then I would want a little thing like this every time. (Although I probably would have taken Grandma up on her offer if it had ever come to pass.)

Check Out The Well Thought Out Interior Of This Small School Bus Based Camper - 1Check Out The Well Thought Out Interior Of This Small School Bus Based Camper - 17Check Out The Well Thought Out Interior Of This Small School Bus Based Camper - 82Check Out The Well Thought Out Interior Of This Small School Bus Based Camper - 77Check Out The Well Thought Out Interior Of This Small School Bus Based Camper - 42Check Out The Well Thought Out Interior Of This Small School Bus Based Camper - 49Check Out The Well Thought Out Interior Of This Small School Bus Based Camper - 83Check Out The Well Thought Out Interior Of This Small School Bus Based Camper - 36